The Meridith Marks Award for Excellence in Education was developed by the Canadian Physiatrists Research and Development Foundation (CPRDF) and Canadian Association of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (CAPM&R) to recognize excellence in education among physiatrists. The Award is named in honour of Dr. Meridith Marks to acknowledge her significant contributions to medical education in Canada.

Dr. Marks’ clinical practice at the Ottawa Hospital Rehabilitation Centre had focused on amputee rehabilitation. In this environment, she had provided clinical education and supervision for medical students and physicians training to be specialists in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PM&R). She is an internationally recognized lecturer and facilitator on topics related to rehabilitation medicine, teaching skills development and leadership. Meridith was also the Assistant Dean in the Faculty of Medicine, Academy for Innovation in Medical Education (AIME) at the University of Ottawa, and was responsible for promoting scholarship and innovation in medical education.

The call for pledges initiated at the CAPM&R 58th Annual Scientific Meeting in Winnipeg, Manitoba had successfully generated $22,150, with the majority of individual donations pledged in the amount of $1,000 - $2,000. While this was a tremendous start, we have not reached our goal! Through the charitable support of individuals and university programs, our goal is to raise $250,000 towards this initiative. Please give generously.

The recipient of this award will be a CAPM&R member in good standing who has contributed to education within the CAPM&R, as well as to medical education at a local and national level. A maximum of one award per year will be given, based on the quality of applications received. For further information about the Meridith Marks Award for Excellence in Education, please contact the This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Thank you for your support! Charitable tax receipts will be issued on eligible donations.

Prior winners: 2015 - Dr. Lalith Satkunam 2014 – Dr. Denyse Richardson 2013 – Dr. Suzan Dojeiji