In a spirit of recognition for achievement, contribution, and character, the CAPM&R introduces the Award of Merit.


  1. Must be a member in good standing with the CAPM&R (any category).
  2. Must have contributed to the activities of the CAPM&R and/or CPRDF
  3. Must not be a current member of the CAPM&R Executive Committee.
  4. Must be nominated by his/her peers, at least one who is a CAPM&R member.
  5. Has made a contribution to the field of Physiatry, through research, education, advocacy, medical care, humanitarianism, mentorship, or the advancement of our field.

Process: Please complete the nomination form, attach the nominee’s CV and outline why the nominee is an appropriate candidate. Completed nomination should be submitted electronically to CAPM&R at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by fax to 866-531-0626. A maximum of one award will be presented annually. 

Award of Merit Nomination Form

Award: The recipient will be presented a plaque during an awards ceremony held at the Annual Scientific Meeting of the CAPM&R, and have opportunity to address the membership for 5-10 minutes. Up to $1,000 will be reimbursed to the recipient for their travel to and accommodations at the conference, and registration for that meeting will be complimentary.

History: In past years, members with outstanding and exemplary contributions to the field of physiatry were recognized by an Honorary Lecture, held during the Association’s Annual Scientific Meeting. In 2008, CAPM&R Executive Committee elected to resurrect the award, renaming it the CAPM&R Award of Merit. Our Association members are no ordinary citizens; with valuable contributions to both the art and science of medicine, mentoring, advocacy, humanitarianism, research, and education. A permanent plaque with recipients’ names, including the past Honorary Lecturers, will be housed on display at the CAPM&R National Office. Beginning with the 2008 Annual Scientific Meeting, recipients will be honored with their award during a presentation ceremony. The deadline for nominations for the Award of Merit is February 1 of each year. The Executive of the CAPM&R will select the recipient.

Past winners:

  • 2020 - No awardee
  • 2019 - No awardee
  • 2018 - Dr. Timothy J. Doherty
  • 2017 - Dr. B. Catharine Craven
  • 2016 - Dr. Gaetan Tardif
  • 2015 - Dr. Colleen O'Connell
  • 2014 - Dr. Mark Bayley
  • 2013 - Dr. Thomas A. Miller
  • 2012 - No awardee
  • 2011 - Dr. Meridith Marks
  • 2010 - Dr. Robert W. Teasell
  • 2009 - Dr. John Latter 2008 - Dr. Lalith Satkunam

Honorary Lectureship

  • 2003 Dr. Lorna Bellamy
  • 2002 Dr. Ron Bowie
  • 2001 Dr. Ronald Kirby